Ketchikan (AK) Sales Tax
The Ketchikan sales tax rate is 6.50%
|Alaska state sales tax||0%|
|Ketchikan Gateway Borough sales tax||2.50%|
|Combined Sales Tax||6.50%|
Ketchikan sales Tax Calculator Alaska
To make it easier to calculate the Ketchikan (AK) Sales tax, we have created a calculator. All that you need to input is the zip code and the number of goods bought. The calculator will tell you how much you should approximately pay in sales tax. The tools are free to use and very simple.
How does the Ketchikan sales tax compare to the rest of Alaska?
Each vendor in the USA needs to charge sales tax to the items and services that they sell. The Department of Revenue collects the sales tax proceeds from the vendors. The Ketchikan, AK sales tax rate is 6.50%. This includes 0% Alaska state sales tax, 2.50% Ketchikan Gateway Borough sales tax and 0% special tax.
A merchant adds the sales tax to all the qualifying sales completed in Ketchikan, AK. The Ketchikan sales tax should be clearly stated on the invoice. There are some specific goods and services are tax-exempt in Ketchikan (Alaska). Alcohol, tobacco and gas are subject to excise tax.
The 6.50% sales tax rate of the Ketchikan, AK applies to the following list of zip codes: 99901.
The vendor needs to check their district zip code to make sure that they are charging the right sales tax for the business transactions.
There are 10392 people in and around Ketchikan. It is important to be aware that zip-code boundaries do not always coincide with general boundaries. Therefore, when choosing sales tax rates, you should not focus only on zip-codes. In the event of a dispute, it is recommended that you contact the Internal Revenue Service to determine sales tax rates for you.
Alternative sales tax rate for Ketchikan
|City||Combined Tax||State Rate||County Tax||City Tax||Special Tax|
Popular questions about sales tax in Ketchikan
When you make a purchase, you must pay sales tax. To find how much u, pay, all that u have to do is to add up the total percentage of applicable sales taxes to your location and multiply that by the total cost of goods. Let’s say that your total applicable sales tax rate is 8%. Let’s say that you make a purchase worth $100. You multiply $100 with 8% to get a total sales cost of $8. You then add the $8 to the original cost of goods, bringing your final transaction cost to $108.
You need to know all the applicable sales taxes that you should collect. You collect these taxes on each transaction. When it comes time to file your business quarterly returns, you declare your sales taxes collected and you pay them to the Department OF Revenue. You pay these taxes on January 15, April 15, July 15, and October 15. The type of sales taxes collected, and the rate depends on the business incorporation location and the applicable laws of that location.
To collect taxes as a business you need a tax id number. You can get thus form the IRS . You get a sales tax id by using the information from the tax id number. A sales certificate is proof that you are buying something for business use and that you intend to resell the thing that you bought. The sales certificate allows a business to buy goods and services without a sales tax.
45 states (do not levy these taxes in the states Alaska, Oregon, Delaware, Montana and New Hampshire) and the District of Columbia impose general sales taxes that apply to the sale or lease of most goods and some services, and states also may levy selective sales taxes on the sale or lease of particular goods or services. States may grant local governments the authority to impose additional general or selective sales taxes.
The first detail to know about sales taxes is that some states imposer the sale tax on the vendor, some to the buyer, and some states place sales taxes on both entities. It is important to know who pays the tax, as this affects whether you can claim the taxes as a refund or not.