Kula (HI) Sales Tax

  • Comments: Comments Off on Kula (HI) Sales Tax

The Kula sales tax rate is 4.00%

Taxing jurisdiction Rate
Hawaii state sales tax 4.00%
Maui County sales tax 0%
City tax 0%
Special tax 0%
Combined Sales Tax 4.00%

Kula sales Tax Calculator Hawaii

To make it easier to calculate the Kula (HI) Sales tax, we have created a calculator. All that you need to input is the zip code and the number of goods bought. The calculator will tell you how much you should approximately pay in sales tax. The tools are free to use and very simple.

-or- Specify Sales Tax Rate
-or- Specify ZIP Code

How does the Kula sales tax compare to the rest of Hawaii?

Hawaii Honolulu Kalawao Kauaʻi Maui

Each vendor in the USA needs to charge sales tax to the items and services that they sell. The Department of Revenue collects the sales tax proceeds from the vendors. The Kula, HI sales tax rate is 4.00%. This includes 4.00% Hawaii state sales tax, 0% Maui County sales tax and 0% special tax.

A merchant adds the sales tax to all the qualifying sales completed in Kula, HI. The Kula sales tax should be clearly stated on the invoice. There are some specific goods and services are tax-exempt in Kula (Hawaii). Alcohol, tobacco and gas are subject to excise tax.

The 4.00% sales tax rate of the Kula, HI applies to the following list of zip codes: 96790.

The vendor needs to check their district zip code to make sure that they are charging the right sales tax for the business transactions.

There are 5940 people in and around Kula. It is important to be aware that zip-code boundaries do not always coincide with general boundaries. Therefore, when choosing sales tax rates, you should not focus only on zip-codes. In the event of a dispute, it is recommended that you contact the Internal Revenue Service to determine sales tax rates for you.

Alternative sales tax rate for Kula

City Combined Tax State Rate County Tax City Tax Special Tax
Honolulu 4.50% 4.00% 0.50% 0% 0%
Waipahu 4.50% 4.00% 0.50% 0% 0%
Mililani 4.50% 4.00% 0.50% 0% 0%
Waianae 4.50% 4.00% 0.50% 0% 0%
Pearl City 4.50% 4.00% 0.50% 0% 0%
Wahiawa 4.50% 4.00% 0.50% 0% 0%
Waimanalo 4.50% 4.00% 0.50% 0% 0%
Waialua 4.50% 4.00% 0.50% 0% 0%
Pahoa 4.50% 4.00% 0.50% 0% 0%
Wailuku 4.00% 4.00% 0% 0% 0%

Popular questions about sales tax in Kula

How do I calculate sales tax backwards?

Sometimes, people have a hard time figuring out the math behind sales taxes. This is especially true when people have the total transaction cost and the total sales tax. To figure out the sales tax percentage, we must do a bit of math, which is very simple and can be done via a phone calculator. Let’s assume that your total transaction with taxes is $106.25 and you know that the shelf price of the products purchased is $100.

The first thing that you do is subtract the cost of the goods from the total. In that case $106.25-$100=$6.25. Now you know that the sales taxes are $6.25. Then you divide the total sales tax by the shelf price of the cost of the goods bought, hence $100. So, ding the math, we have $6.25/$100 = 0.0625. We take the ratio number, and we multiply by 100%. Hence, we get : 0.00625*100%= 6.25%, which is the rate.

What state does not charge sales tax?

Sales taxes are regulated by state and federal laws. Since states control the amount of sales tax that they charge locally, some others have decided to omit sales taxes at all to facilitate transactions. There are municipalities, or cities that can impose their taxes. As of right now, there are 5 states in the USA that do not charge a state sales tax. These states are Alaska, Montana, Oregon, Delaware, New Hampshire.

What state has the lowest sales tax?

Some areas have very small sales taxes. Starting, we have Alaska, which has a sales tax of 1.76%. We need to be mindful that products and services are very expensive in Alaska. Moving on with the list, we have Oregon, Delaware, Montana, and New Hampshire that have a 0% sales tax rate. If you need information regarding the ranking of states based on sales taxes, you can check this page.

How to file sales tax?

You need to know all the applicable sales taxes that you should collect. You collect these taxes on each transaction. When it comes time to file your business quarterly returns, you declare your sales taxes collected and you pay them to the Department OF Revenue. You pay these taxes on January 15, April 15, July 15, and October 15. The type of sales taxes collected, and the rate depends on the business incorporation location and the applicable laws of that location.

What states have sales tax?

45 states (do not levy these taxes in the states Alaska, Oregon, Delaware, Montana and New Hampshire) and the District of Columbia impose general sales taxes that apply to the sale or lease of most goods and some services, and states also may levy selective sales taxes on the sale or lease of particular goods or services. States may grant local governments the authority to impose additional general or selective sales taxes.