Auburn (ME) Sales Tax
The Auburn sales tax rate is 5.50%
|Maine state sales tax||5.50%|
|Androscoggin County sales tax||0%|
|Combined Sales Tax||5.50%|
Auburn sales Tax Calculator Maine
To make it easier to calculate the Auburn (ME) Sales tax, we have created a calculator. All that you need to input is the zip code and the number of goods bought. The calculator will tell you how much you should approximately pay in sales tax. The tools are free to use and very simple.
How does the Auburn sales tax compare to the rest of Maine?
Each vendor in the USA needs to charge sales tax to the items and services that they sell. The Department of Revenue collects the sales tax proceeds from the vendors. The Auburn, ME sales tax rate is 5.50%. This includes 5.50% Maine state sales tax, 0% Androscoggin County sales tax and 0% special tax.
A merchant adds the sales tax to all the qualifying sales completed in Auburn, ME. The Auburn sales tax should be clearly stated on the invoice. There are some specific goods and services are tax-exempt in Auburn (Maine). Alcohol, tobacco and gas are subject to excise tax.
The 5.50% sales tax rate of the Auburn, ME applies to the following list of zip codes: 4210, 4211, 4212.
The vendor needs to check their district zip code to make sure that they are charging the right sales tax for the business transactions.
There are 18154 people in and around Auburn. It is important to be aware that zip-code boundaries do not always coincide with general boundaries. Therefore, when choosing sales tax rates, you should not focus only on zip-codes. In the event of a dispute, it is recommended that you contact the Internal Revenue Service to determine sales tax rates for you.
Alternative sales tax rate for Auburn
|City||Combined Tax||State Rate||County Tax||City Tax||Special Tax|
Popular questions about sales tax in Auburn
Sales taxes are regulated by state and federal laws. Since states control the amount of sales tax that they charge locally, some others have decided to omit sales taxes at all to facilitate transactions. There are municipalities, or cities that can impose their taxes. As of right now, there are 5 states in the USA that do not charge a state sales tax. These states are Alaska, Montana, Oregon, Delaware, New Hampshire.
There are some special goods and services that do not qualify for the sales tax rate but instead are charged another rate. The most common category of these items falls under the excise tax. This is a special tax rate that is charged to gas, fuel, tobacco, and other goods that are heavily regulated by the government. Some services qualify for excise tax, such as using the highway. Air travel is in this category too.
When you make a purchase, you must pay sales tax. To find how much u, pay, all that u have to do is to add up the total percentage of applicable sales taxes to your location and multiply that by the total cost of goods. Let’s say that your total applicable sales tax rate is 8%. Let’s say that you make a purchase worth $100. You multiply $100 with 8% to get a total sales cost of $8. You then add the $8 to the original cost of goods, bringing your final transaction cost to $108.
You need to know all the applicable sales taxes that you should collect. You collect these taxes on each transaction. When it comes time to file your business quarterly returns, you declare your sales taxes collected and you pay them to the Department OF Revenue. You pay these taxes on January 15, April 15, July 15, and October 15. The type of sales taxes collected, and the rate depends on the business incorporation location and the applicable laws of that location.
The first detail to know about sales taxes is that some states imposer the sale tax on the vendor, some to the buyer, and some states place sales taxes on both entities. It is important to know who pays the tax, as this affects whether you can claim the taxes as a refund or not.