Guilford (ME) Sales Tax

  • Comments: Comments Off on Guilford (ME) Sales Tax

The Guilford sales tax rate is 5.50%

Taxing jurisdiction Rate
Maine state sales tax 5.50%
Piscataquis County sales tax 0%
City tax 0%
Special tax 0%
Combined Sales Tax 5.50%

Guilford sales Tax Calculator Maine

To make it easier to calculate the Guilford (ME) Sales tax, we have created a calculator. All that you need to input is the zip code and the number of goods bought. The calculator will tell you how much you should approximately pay in sales tax. The tools are free to use and very simple.

-or- Specify Sales Tax Rate
-or- Specify ZIP Code

How does the Guilford sales tax compare to the rest of Maine?

Androscoggin Aroostook Cumberland Franklin Hancock Kennebec Knox Lincoln Oxford Penobscot Piscataquis Sagadahoc Somerset Waldo Washington York

Each vendor in the USA needs to charge sales tax to the items and services that they sell. The Department of Revenue collects the sales tax proceeds from the vendors. The Guilford, ME sales tax rate is 5.50%. This includes 5.50% Maine state sales tax, 0% Piscataquis County sales tax and 0% special tax.

A merchant adds the sales tax to all the qualifying sales completed in Guilford, ME. The Guilford sales tax should be clearly stated on the invoice. There are some specific goods and services are tax-exempt in Guilford (Maine). Alcohol, tobacco and gas are subject to excise tax.

The 5.50% sales tax rate of the Guilford, ME applies to the following list of zip codes: 4443.

The vendor needs to check their district zip code to make sure that they are charging the right sales tax for the business transactions.

There are 1899 people in and around Guilford. It is important to be aware that zip-code boundaries do not always coincide with general boundaries. Therefore, when choosing sales tax rates, you should not focus only on zip-codes. In the event of a dispute, it is recommended that you contact the Internal Revenue Service to determine sales tax rates for you.

Alternative sales tax rate for Guilford

City Combined Tax State Rate County Tax City Tax Special Tax
Hampden 5.50% 5.50% 0% 0% 0%
Lincoln 5.50% 5.50% 0% 0% 0%
Milford 5.50% 5.50% 0% 0% 0%
Eddington 5.50% 5.50% 0% 0% 0%
Levant 5.50% 5.50% 0% 0% 0%
Corinth 5.50% 5.50% 0% 0% 0%
East Millinocket 5.50% 5.50% 0% 0% 0%
Hudson 5.50% 5.50% 0% 0% 0%
Medway 5.50% 5.50% 0% 0% 0%
Howland 5.50% 5.50% 0% 0% 0%
Kenduskeag 5.50% 5.50% 0% 0% 0%
Etna 5.50% 5.50% 0% 0% 0%
Holden 5.50% 5.50% 0% 0% 0%
Millinocket 5.50% 5.50% 0% 0% 0%
Dover Foxcroft 5.50% 5.50% 0% 0% 0%
Milo 5.50% 5.50% 0% 0% 0%
Greenville 5.50% 5.50% 0% 0% 0%

Popular questions about sales tax in Guilford

What states do not have sales tax?

Sales taxes are regulated by state and federal laws. Since states control the amount of sales tax that they charge locally, some others have decided to omit sales taxes at all to facilitate transactions. There are municipalities, or cities that can impose their taxes. As of right now, there are 5 states in the USA that do not charge a state sales tax. These states are Alaska, Montana, Oregon, Delaware, New Hampshire.

What state has the lowest sales tax?

Some areas have very small sales taxes. Starting, we have Alaska, which has a sales tax of 1.76%. We need to be mindful that products and services are very expensive in Alaska. Moving on with the list, we have Oregon, Delaware, Montana, and New Hampshire that have a 0% sales tax rate. If you need information regarding the ranking of states based on sales taxes, you can check this page.

How is an excise tax different from a sales tax?

There are some special goods and services that do not qualify for the sales tax rate but instead are charged another rate. The most common category of these items falls under the excise tax. This is a special tax rate that is charged to gas, fuel, tobacco, and other goods that are heavily regulated by the government. Some services qualify for excise tax, such as using the highway. Air travel is in this category too.

Who collects sales tax?

Sales taxes are collected by the Department of Revenue. The taxes go to the General Fund, and it funds government expenses. Some parts of the sales tax fund state operations, such as K-12 education. The money can be used to fund other public services. The money collected from taxes is also used to pay the wages of jobs that are related to government agencies, such as police departments, libraries, museums, etc.

What states have sales tax?

45 states (do not levy these taxes in the states Alaska, Oregon, Delaware, Montana and New Hampshire) and the District of Columbia impose general sales taxes that apply to the sale or lease of most goods and some services, and states also may levy selective sales taxes on the sale or lease of particular goods or services. States may grant local governments the authority to impose additional general or selective sales taxes.