Laurens (SC) Sales Tax
The Laurens sales tax rate is 7.00%
|South Carolina state sales tax||6.00%|
|Laurens County sales tax||1.00%|
|Combined Sales Tax||7.00%|
Laurens sales Tax Calculator South Carolina
To make it easier to calculate the Laurens (SC) Sales tax, we have created a calculator. All that you need to input is the zip code and the number of goods bought. The calculator will tell you how much you should approximately pay in sales tax. The tools are free to use and very simple.
How does the Laurens sales tax compare to the rest of South Carolina?
Each vendor in the USA needs to charge sales tax to the items and services that they sell. The Department of Revenue collects the sales tax proceeds from the vendors. The Laurens, SC sales tax rate is 7.00%. This includes 6.00% South Carolina state sales tax, 1.00% Laurens County sales tax and 0% special tax.
A merchant adds the sales tax to all the qualifying sales completed in Laurens, SC. The Laurens sales tax should be clearly stated on the invoice. There are some specific goods and services are tax-exempt in Laurens (South Carolina). Alcohol, tobacco and gas are subject to excise tax.
The 7.00% sales tax rate of the Laurens, SC applies to the following list of zip codes: 29360.
The vendor needs to check their district zip code to make sure that they are charging the right sales tax for the business transactions.
There are 15909 people in and around Laurens. It is important to be aware that zip-code boundaries do not always coincide with general boundaries. Therefore, when choosing sales tax rates, you should not focus only on zip-codes. In the event of a dispute, it is recommended that you contact the Internal Revenue Service to determine sales tax rates for you.
Alternative sales tax rate for Laurens
|City||Combined Tax||State Rate||County Tax||City Tax||Special Tax|
Popular questions about sales tax in Laurens
Sometimes, people have a hard time figuring out the math behind sales taxes. This is especially true when people have the total transaction cost and the total sales tax. To figure out the sales tax percentage, we must do a bit of math, which is very simple and can be done via a phone calculator. Let’s assume that your total transaction with taxes is $106.25 and you know that the shelf price of the products purchased is $100.
The first thing that you do is subtract the cost of the goods from the total. In that case $106.25-$100=$6.25. Now you know that the sales taxes are $6.25. Then you divide the total sales tax by the shelf price of the cost of the goods bought, hence $100. So, ding the math, we have $6.25/$100 = 0.0625. We take the ratio number, and we multiply by 100%. Hence, we get : 0.00625*100%= 6.25%, which is the rate.
Sales taxes are regulated by state and federal laws. Since states control the amount of sales tax that they charge locally, some others have decided to omit sales taxes at all to facilitate transactions. There are municipalities, or cities that can impose their taxes. As of right now, there are 5 states in the USA that do not charge a state sales tax. These states are Alaska, Montana, Oregon, Delaware, New Hampshire.
When you purchase a car, the laws regarding the applicable sales tax are a bit more complicated. The first factor to consider is that there is a base 6% sales tax. Let’s say that your car costs 10k. You pay 6% on that, which is $600 on sales tax. On top of this cost, you also pay fees for vehicle registration and licenses. If you complete the transaction via a dealership, then all this paperwork and its cost are factored in on the sales agreement. If you buy the car via a private seller, then it is you, the buyer that needs to process all this paperwork via the local tax office and vehicle registration office. You would be responsible for paying registration fees and the title.
States allow for trade-in allowances, and this is a fantastic way to reduce your tax bill. Instead of selling your old vehicle, and then incurring sales taxes on that transaction, you can bring your old vehicle to the dealership and do a trade-in allowance for a new car. The value of the trade-in is reduced from the sticker price of the car that your intent to purchase. Then some dealerships offer rebates, which further reduces your total sales tax.
Let’s say that you will purchase the same car as in the above example that costs 10k. Instead, this time you have an old car to do a trade-in that is valued at 2k. The dealership offers you a 1k rebate offer. In that case, your sales tax will not be charged anymore on the original price of 10k, but it will be charged on the reduced price after the rebate and the trade-in. More specifically, we will reduce from 10k, the value of the rebate (1k) and the value of the trade-in (2k), hence a total of 3k of discount. We would end up paying out-of-pocket 7k. The applicable sales tax on a 7k car is $7000*6%= $420. We can see that we are paying a lower sales tax compared to the previous tax of $600. We are not paying any taxes on the old car that you brought for a rebate and not paying any sales taxes on that.
When you make a purchase, you must pay sales tax. To find how much u, pay, all that u have to do is to add up the total percentage of applicable sales taxes to your location and multiply that by the total cost of goods. Let’s say that your total applicable sales tax rate is 8%. Let’s say that you make a purchase worth $100. You multiply $100 with 8% to get a total sales cost of $8. You then add the $8 to the original cost of goods, bringing your final transaction cost to $108.
The first detail to know about sales taxes is that some states imposer the sale tax on the vendor, some to the buyer, and some states place sales taxes on both entities. It is important to know who pays the tax, as this affects whether you can claim the taxes as a refund or not.