Bristol (TN) Sales Tax
The Bristol sales tax rate is 9.25%
|Tennessee state sales tax||7.00%|
|Sullivan County sales tax||2.25%|
|Combined Sales Tax||9.25%|
Bristol sales Tax Calculator Tennessee
To make it easier to calculate the Bristol (TN) Sales tax, we have created a calculator. All that you need to input is the zip code and the number of goods bought. The calculator will tell you how much you should approximately pay in sales tax. The tools are free to use and very simple.
How does the Bristol sales tax compare to the rest of Tennessee?
Each vendor in the USA needs to charge sales tax to the items and services that they sell. The Department of Revenue collects the sales tax proceeds from the vendors. The Bristol, TN sales tax rate is 9.25%. This includes 7.00% Tennessee state sales tax, 2.25% Sullivan County sales tax and 0% special tax.
A merchant adds the sales tax to all the qualifying sales completed in Bristol, TN. The Bristol sales tax should be clearly stated on the invoice. There are some specific goods and services are tax-exempt in Bristol (Tennessee). Alcohol, tobacco and gas are subject to excise tax.
The 9.25% sales tax rate of the Bristol, TN applies to the following list of zip codes: 37620, 37621, 37625.
The vendor needs to check their district zip code to make sure that they are charging the right sales tax for the business transactions.
There are 30545 people in and around Bristol. It is important to be aware that zip-code boundaries do not always coincide with general boundaries. Therefore, when choosing sales tax rates, you should not focus only on zip-codes. In the event of a dispute, it is recommended that you contact the Internal Revenue Service to determine sales tax rates for you.
Alternative sales tax rate for Bristol
|City||Combined Tax||State Rate||County Tax||City Tax||Special Tax|
Popular questions about sales tax in Bristol
Sales taxes are regulated by state and federal laws. Since states control the amount of sales tax that they charge locally, some others have decided to omit sales taxes at all to facilitate transactions. There are municipalities, or cities that can impose their taxes. As of right now, there are 5 states in the USA that do not charge a state sales tax. These states are Alaska, Montana, Oregon, Delaware, New Hampshire.
Some areas have very small sales taxes. Starting, we have Alaska, which has a sales tax of 1.76%. We need to be mindful that products and services are very expensive in Alaska. Moving on with the list, we have Oregon, Delaware, Montana, and New Hampshire that have a 0% sales tax rate. If you need information regarding the ranking of states based on sales taxes, you can check this page.
When you make a purchase, you must pay sales tax. To find how much u, pay, all that u have to do is to add up the total percentage of applicable sales taxes to your location and multiply that by the total cost of goods. Let’s say that your total applicable sales tax rate is 8%. Let’s say that you make a purchase worth $100. You multiply $100 with 8% to get a total sales cost of $8. You then add the $8 to the original cost of goods, bringing your final transaction cost to $108.
To collect taxes as a business you need a tax id number. You can get thus form the IRS . You get a sales tax id by using the information from the tax id number. A sales certificate is proof that you are buying something for business use and that you intend to resell the thing that you bought. The sales certificate allows a business to buy goods and services without a sales tax.
45 states (do not levy these taxes in the states Alaska, Oregon, Delaware, Montana and New Hampshire) and the District of Columbia impose general sales taxes that apply to the sale or lease of most goods and some services, and states also may levy selective sales taxes on the sale or lease of particular goods or services. States may grant local governments the authority to impose additional general or selective sales taxes.