Bluff Dale (TX) Sales Tax
The Bluff Dale sales tax rate is 6.75%
|Texas state sales tax||6.25%|
|Erath County sales tax||%|
|Combined Sales Tax||6.75%|
Bluff Dale sales Tax Calculator Texas
To make it easier to calculate the Bluff Dale (TX) Sales tax, we have created a calculator. All that you need to input is the zip code and the number of goods bought. The calculator will tell you how much you should approximately pay in sales tax. The tools are free to use and very simple.
How does the Bluff Dale sales tax compare to the rest of Texas?
Each vendor in the USA needs to charge sales tax to the items and services that they sell. The Department of Revenue collects the sales tax proceeds from the vendors. The Bluff Dale, TX sales tax rate is 6.75%. This includes 6.25% Texas state sales tax, % Erath County sales tax and 0% special tax.
A merchant adds the sales tax to all the qualifying sales completed in Bluff Dale, TX. The Bluff Dale sales tax should be clearly stated on the invoice. There are some specific goods and services are tax-exempt in Bluff Dale (Texas). Alcohol, tobacco and gas are subject to excise tax.
The 6.75% sales tax rate of the Bluff Dale, TX applies to the following list of zip codes: 76433.
The vendor needs to check their district zip code to make sure that they are charging the right sales tax for the business transactions.
There are 1042 people in and around Bluff Dale. It is important to be aware that zip-code boundaries do not always coincide with general boundaries. Therefore, when choosing sales tax rates, you should not focus only on zip-codes. In the event of a dispute, it is recommended that you contact the Internal Revenue Service to determine sales tax rates for you.
Alternative sales tax rate for Bluff Dale
|City||Combined Tax||State Rate||County Tax||City Tax||Special Tax|
Popular questions about sales tax in Bluff Dale
Sometimes, people have a hard time figuring out the math behind sales taxes. This is especially true when people have the total transaction cost and the total sales tax. To figure out the sales tax percentage, we must do a bit of math, which is very simple and can be done via a phone calculator. Let’s assume that your total transaction with taxes is $106.25 and you know that the shelf price of the products purchased is $100.
The first thing that you do is subtract the cost of the goods from the total. In that case $106.25-$100=$6.25. Now you know that the sales taxes are $6.25. Then you divide the total sales tax by the shelf price of the cost of the goods bought, hence $100. So, ding the math, we have $6.25/$100 = 0.0625. We take the ratio number, and we multiply by 100%. Hence, we get : 0.00625*100%= 6.25%, which is the rate.
When you purchase a car, the laws regarding the applicable sales tax are a bit more complicated. The first factor to consider is that there is a base 6% sales tax. Let’s say that your car costs 10k. You pay 6% on that, which is $600 on sales tax. On top of this cost, you also pay fees for vehicle registration and licenses. If you complete the transaction via a dealership, then all this paperwork and its cost are factored in on the sales agreement. If you buy the car via a private seller, then it is you, the buyer that needs to process all this paperwork via the local tax office and vehicle registration office. You would be responsible for paying registration fees and the title.
States allow for trade-in allowances, and this is a fantastic way to reduce your tax bill. Instead of selling your old vehicle, and then incurring sales taxes on that transaction, you can bring your old vehicle to the dealership and do a trade-in allowance for a new car. The value of the trade-in is reduced from the sticker price of the car that your intent to purchase. Then some dealerships offer rebates, which further reduces your total sales tax.
Let’s say that you will purchase the same car as in the above example that costs 10k. Instead, this time you have an old car to do a trade-in that is valued at 2k. The dealership offers you a 1k rebate offer. In that case, your sales tax will not be charged anymore on the original price of 10k, but it will be charged on the reduced price after the rebate and the trade-in. More specifically, we will reduce from 10k, the value of the rebate (1k) and the value of the trade-in (2k), hence a total of 3k of discount. We would end up paying out-of-pocket 7k. The applicable sales tax on a 7k car is $7000*6%= $420. We can see that we are paying a lower sales tax compared to the previous tax of $600. We are not paying any taxes on the old car that you brought for a rebate and not paying any sales taxes on that.
The sales tax is paid by the consumer to the business. The business then collects the sales taxes and pays them out to the Department Of Revenue. Sales taxes are paid on qualifying goods, otherwise known as taxable goods. Sales taxes also apply to taxable services. Not every product or service sold qualifies for sales taxes. Some are sales tax exempt.
On the category of sales exempt, there are various items and services. These depend on the type of business that is selling them and depends on the state. Various states have different rules when it comes to sales exempt items and services. Sales tax exempt are also businesses that are qualified as non-profit.
To get more information on sales taxes, you can check this link. You will get info about what should a business do to collect taxes, about the applicable laws that determine how a business pays sales taxes and how to determine the appropriate sales tax for a newly established business. It is imperative to know that the tax rate that a business charge depends on its nexus, otherwise known as a place of incorporation.
Sales taxes rates change by zip code as each county can impose its own sales taxes. When we factor both state taxes and local taxes, we can see that in all USA, there are some areas that you end up paying more in sales taxes. We will list the top 5 states in the USA that have the highest sales taxes.
- New York has a state tax of 4%. A during up the local taxes, the final tax rate can add up to 8.5%. The metro city area has a surcharge of 0.375% to fund public transport. Groceries and drugs are tax-exempt in NY.
- Then we have Kansas. It has a state sales tax of 6.25%. Some local areas can charge an additional 4%. The average sales tax rate in Kansas is 8.7%, even though some areas can reach up to 10%. The sales tax applies to everything; hence it is very expensive there.
- California has a state tax of 7.25% and local areas can charge an additional 2.5%. The average combined sales tax is 8.82%.
- Illinois has a state tax of 6.25% and some local areas charge up to 4.75%. The average sales tax rate is 8.83%.
- Oklahoma has a state tax of 4.75% and local areas can charge up to 7% extra on sales taxes. The average sales tax is 8.95%.
You need to know all the applicable sales taxes that you should collect. You collect these taxes on each transaction. When it comes time to file your business quarterly returns, you declare your sales taxes collected and you pay them to the Department OF Revenue. You pay these taxes on January 15, April 15, July 15, and October 15. The type of sales taxes collected, and the rate depends on the business incorporation location and the applicable laws of that location.