Marshfield (WI) Sales Tax
The Marshfield sales tax rate is 5.50%
|Wisconsin state sales tax||5.00%|
|Wood County sales tax||0.50%|
|Combined Sales Tax||5.50%|
Marshfield sales Tax Calculator Wisconsin
To make it easier to calculate the Marshfield (WI) Sales tax, we have created a calculator. All that you need to input is the zip code and the number of goods bought. The calculator will tell you how much you should approximately pay in sales tax. The tools are free to use and very simple.
How does the Marshfield sales tax compare to the rest of Wisconsin?
Each vendor in the USA needs to charge sales tax to the items and services that they sell. The Department of Revenue collects the sales tax proceeds from the vendors. The Marshfield, WI sales tax rate is 5.50%. This includes 5.00% Wisconsin state sales tax, 0.50% Wood County sales tax and 0% special tax.
A merchant adds the sales tax to all the qualifying sales completed in Marshfield, WI. The Marshfield sales tax should be clearly stated on the invoice. There are some specific goods and services are tax-exempt in Marshfield (Wisconsin). Alcohol, tobacco and gas are subject to excise tax.
The 5.50% sales tax rate of the Marshfield, WI applies to the following list of zip codes: 54449.
The vendor needs to check their district zip code to make sure that they are charging the right sales tax for the business transactions.
There are 22768 people in and around Marshfield. It is important to be aware that zip-code boundaries do not always coincide with general boundaries. Therefore, when choosing sales tax rates, you should not focus only on zip-codes. In the event of a dispute, it is recommended that you contact the Internal Revenue Service to determine sales tax rates for you.
Alternative sales tax rate for Marshfield
|City||Combined Tax||State Rate||County Tax||City Tax||Special Tax|
Popular questions about sales tax in Marshfield
The sales tax varies by state, county, and city. Since each jurisdiction has its own applicable sales tax rate, it is difficult to keep track of the tax amount owed for various jurisdictions. Therefore, we have created a simple tool that makes all the necessary calculations for you. Using our free online Sales Tax Calculator will allow you to automatically figure out the sales tax amount owed. All that you must do is input the total sales amount and the zip code that you are completing the purchase. The site will list the total sales amount and the components of the sales tax. This means it will list the appropriate applicable state, county, local, and city taxes. This service is nice and simple to use.
Sometimes, people have a hard time figuring out the math behind sales taxes. This is especially true when people have the total transaction cost and the total sales tax. To figure out the sales tax percentage, we must do a bit of math, which is very simple and can be done via a phone calculator. Let’s assume that your total transaction with taxes is $106.25 and you know that the shelf price of the products purchased is $100.
The first thing that you do is subtract the cost of the goods from the total. In that case $106.25-$100=$6.25. Now you know that the sales taxes are $6.25. Then you divide the total sales tax by the shelf price of the cost of the goods bought, hence $100. So, ding the math, we have $6.25/$100 = 0.0625. We take the ratio number, and we multiply by 100%. Hence, we get : 0.00625*100%= 6.25%, which is the rate.
When you purchase a car, the laws regarding the applicable sales tax are a bit more complicated. The first factor to consider is that there is a base 6% sales tax. Let’s say that your car costs 10k. You pay 6% on that, which is $600 on sales tax. On top of this cost, you also pay fees for vehicle registration and licenses. If you complete the transaction via a dealership, then all this paperwork and its cost are factored in on the sales agreement. If you buy the car via a private seller, then it is you, the buyer that needs to process all this paperwork via the local tax office and vehicle registration office. You would be responsible for paying registration fees and the title.
States allow for trade-in allowances, and this is a fantastic way to reduce your tax bill. Instead of selling your old vehicle, and then incurring sales taxes on that transaction, you can bring your old vehicle to the dealership and do a trade-in allowance for a new car. The value of the trade-in is reduced from the sticker price of the car that your intent to purchase. Then some dealerships offer rebates, which further reduces your total sales tax.
Let’s say that you will purchase the same car as in the above example that costs 10k. Instead, this time you have an old car to do a trade-in that is valued at 2k. The dealership offers you a 1k rebate offer. In that case, your sales tax will not be charged anymore on the original price of 10k, but it will be charged on the reduced price after the rebate and the trade-in. More specifically, we will reduce from 10k, the value of the rebate (1k) and the value of the trade-in (2k), hence a total of 3k of discount. We would end up paying out-of-pocket 7k. The applicable sales tax on a 7k car is $7000*6%= $420. We can see that we are paying a lower sales tax compared to the previous tax of $600. We are not paying any taxes on the old car that you brought for a rebate and not paying any sales taxes on that.
Sales taxes are collected by the Department of Revenue. The taxes go to the General Fund, and it funds government expenses. Some parts of the sales tax fund state operations, such as K-12 education. The money can be used to fund other public services. The money collected from taxes is also used to pay the wages of jobs that are related to government agencies, such as police departments, libraries, museums, etc.
A sales tax certificate is a document that allows a business to make sales-tax-free purchases of goods and services that it intends to reuse for business and to later sell and collect sales tax on. Some states allow buyers and businesses that engage in frequent transactions to create a blanket certificate. This is a simplified version of the sale certificate, and it is valid for a specified amount of time.
Sellers that do not have a large volume of transactions do not even need a sale certificate. Such is the case of garage sales. Some states offer direct payment certificates, which allow for the purchasers to not pay any sales tax to their sellers, but they pay everything to the government directly. There are numerous intricate scenarios and for this, you need a good CPA or a sales law specialist to better guide you.