Weld County (CO) Sales Tax
Each business in Colorado needs to collect sales taxes to then pay up to the Department of Revenue. The sales taxes are added to qualifying items and services sold. The sales tax rate is made up of the sum of the State sales tax, county sales tax, city sales tax, and in some cases, there are extra special district sales rates. The maximum sales tax applicable in Weld County, Colorado reaches 7.40%. The sales tax in Colorado is 2.90%. Weld County charges an extra 0% sales tax rate. Some cities charge up to an additional 4.5% on the sales tax rate, hence we get the maximal result of 7.40% sales tax rate.
Weld County Sales Tax Calculator, Colorado
When you are selling or buying, you need to know the total sales tax applicable to your transaction. Since each city and district has its own applicable sales tax rate, it is easy to get lost. For this reason, we have created an online calculator that figures all of this out for you. All that you must do is input your zip code and the price of the transaction. The calculator will apply the sales tax rate of that zip code and will give you a result. This way you do not need to look around and search on multiple sites.
Tax Rates by City in Weld County, Colorado
In the USA, each district, each city has its own applicable sales tax rate. The total sales tax rates vary from a minimum of 2.90% to a maximum of 7.40%. To learn more about what is the general applicable sales tax rate for each city in Colorado, see the table below. All you must do is to look for your designated city and read the applicable sales tax rate.
|City||Sales Tax Rate||Zip-code||Population|
|Greeley||7.01%||80631, 80632, 80633, 80634, 80638, 80639||71272|
Alternative sales tax rate for Weld County.
|County||Max Combined Tax State Tax||County Tax||City Tax||Special Tax|
|Rio Blanco County||6.50%||3.60%||0%||0%|
|Clear Creek County||9.55%||1.65%||5.00%||0%|
Popular questions about sales tax in Weld County
Sometimes, people have a hard time figuring out the math behind sales taxes. This is especially true when people have the total transaction cost and the total sales tax. To figure out the sales tax percentage, we must do a bit of math, which is very simple and can be done via a phone calculator. Let’s assume that your total transaction with taxes is $106.25 and you know that the shelf price of the products purchased is $100.
The first thing that you do is subtract the cost of the goods from the total. In that case $106.25-$100=$6.25. Now you know that the sales taxes are $6.25. Then you divide the total sales tax by the shelf price of the cost of the goods bought, hence $100. So, ding the math, we have $6.25/$100 = 0.0625. We take the ratio number, and we multiply by 100%. Hence, we get : 0.00625*100%= 6.25%, which is the rate.
Sales taxes are regulated by state and federal laws. Since states control the amount of sales tax that they charge locally, some others have decided to omit sales taxes at all to facilitate transactions. There are municipalities, or cities that can impose their taxes. As of right now, there are 5 states in the USA that do not charge a state sales tax. These states are Alaska, Montana, Oregon, Delaware, New Hampshire.
When you purchase a car, the laws regarding the applicable sales tax are a bit more complicated. The first factor to consider is that there is a base 6% sales tax. Let’s say that your car costs 10k. You pay 6% on that, which is $600 on sales tax. On top of this cost, you also pay fees for vehicle registration and licenses. If you complete the transaction via a dealership, then all this paperwork and its cost are factored in on the sales agreement. If you buy the car via a private seller, then it is you, the buyer that needs to process all this paperwork via the local tax office and vehicle registration office. You would be responsible for paying registration fees and the title.
States allow for trade-in allowances, and this is a fantastic way to reduce your tax bill. Instead of selling your old vehicle, and then incurring sales taxes on that transaction, you can bring your old vehicle to the dealership and do a trade-in allowance for a new car. The value of the trade-in is reduced from the sticker price of the car that your intent to purchase. Then some dealerships offer rebates, which further reduces your total sales tax.
Let’s say that you will purchase the same car as in the above example that costs 10k. Instead, this time you have an old car to do a trade-in that is valued at 2k. The dealership offers you a 1k rebate offer. In that case, your sales tax will not be charged anymore on the original price of 10k, but it will be charged on the reduced price after the rebate and the trade-in. More specifically, we will reduce from 10k, the value of the rebate (1k) and the value of the trade-in (2k), hence a total of 3k of discount. We would end up paying out-of-pocket 7k. The applicable sales tax on a 7k car is $7000*6%= $420. We can see that we are paying a lower sales tax compared to the previous tax of $600. We are not paying any taxes on the old car that you brought for a rebate and not paying any sales taxes on that.
There are some special goods and services that do not qualify for the sales tax rate but instead are charged another rate. The most common category of these items falls under the excise tax. This is a special tax rate that is charged to gas, fuel, tobacco, and other goods that are heavily regulated by the government. Some services qualify for excise tax, such as using the highway. Air travel is in this category too.
45 states (do not levy these taxes in the states Alaska, Oregon, Delaware, Montana and New Hampshire) and the District of Columbia impose general sales taxes that apply to the sale or lease of most goods and some services, and states also may levy selective sales taxes on the sale or lease of particular goods or services. States may grant local governments the authority to impose additional general or selective sales taxes.