Sandoval County (NM) Sales Tax

  • Comments: Comments Off on Sandoval County (NM) Sales Tax

Each business in New Mexico needs to collect sales taxes to then pay up to the Department of Revenue. The sales taxes are added to qualifying items and services sold. The sales tax rate is made up of the sum of the State sales tax, county sales tax, city sales tax, and in some cases, there are extra special district sales rates. The maximum sales tax applicable in Sandoval County, New Mexico reaches 7.81%. The sales tax in New Mexico is 5.13%. Sandoval County charges an extra 0% sales tax rate. Some cities charge up to an additional 6.38% on the sales tax rate, hence we get the maximal result of 7.81% sales tax rate.

Sandoval County Sales Tax Calculator, New Mexico

-or- Specify Sales Tax Rate
-or- Specify ZIP Code

When you are selling or buying, you need to know the total sales tax applicable to your transaction. Since each city and district has its own applicable sales tax rate, it is easy to get lost. For this reason, we have created an online calculator that figures all of this out for you. All that you must do is input your zip code and the price of the transaction. The calculator will apply the sales tax rate of that zip code and will give you a result. This way you do not need to look around and search on multiple sites.

Tax Rates by City in Sandoval County, New Mexico

In the USA, each district, each city has its own applicable sales tax rate. The total sales tax rates vary from a minimum of 6.38% to a maximum of 7.81%. To learn more about what is the general applicable sales tax rate for each city in New Mexico, see the table below. All you must do is to look for your designated city and read the applicable sales tax rate.

City Sales Tax Rate Zip-code Population
Rio Rancho 7.69% 87124, 87144, 87174 71037

Alternative sales tax rate for Sandoval County.

County Max Combined Tax State Tax County Tax City Tax Special Tax
Bernalillo County 7.88% 0% 2.75% 0%
Santa Fe County 9.06% 0% 3.31% 0%
Chaves County 7.83% 0% 2.71% 0%
Curry County 8.19% 0% 3.06% 0%
Valencia County 8.55% 1.75% 3.43% 0%
Eddy County 7.90% 0% 2.77% 0%
Los Alamos County 7.31% 2.19% 0% 0%
Luna County 7.94% 1.75% 2.81% 0%
Grant County 8.00% 0% 2.88% 0%
San Miguel County 8.40% 0% 3.27% 0%
Roosevelt County 8.19% 0% 3.06% 0%
Rio Arriba County 8.94% 0% 3.81% 0%
Cibola County 8.13% 0% 6.81% 0%
Colfax County 8.51% 0% 3.38% 0%
Torrance County 7.94% 1.63% 2.81% 0%
Quay County 8.38% 0% 3.25% 0%
Sierra County 8.50% 0% 3.38% 0%
Union County 8.13% 0% 3.00% 0%
De Baca County 6.75% 1.63% 0% 0%
Catron County 6.31% 1.19% 0% 0%

Popular questions about sales tax in Sandoval County

What states don`t charge sales tax?

Sales taxes are regulated by state and federal laws. Since states control the amount of sales tax that they charge locally, some others have decided to omit sales taxes at all to facilitate transactions. There are municipalities, or cities that can impose their taxes. As of right now, there are 5 states in the USA that do not charge a state sales tax. These states are Alaska, Montana, Oregon, Delaware, New Hampshire.

How to add sales tax to a price?

When you make a purchase, you must pay sales tax. To find how much u, pay, all that u have to do is to add up the total percentage of applicable sales taxes to your location and multiply that by the total cost of goods. Let’s say that your total applicable sales tax rate is 8%. Let’s say that you make a purchase worth $100. You multiply $100 with 8% to get a total sales cost of $8. You then add the $8 to the original cost of goods, bringing your final transaction cost to $108.

When is sales tax due?

You need to know all the applicable sales taxes that you should collect. You collect these taxes on each transaction. When it comes time to file your business quarterly returns, you declare your sales taxes collected and you pay them to the Department OF Revenue. You pay these taxes on January 15, April 15, July 15, and October 15. The type of sales taxes collected, and the rate depends on the business incorporation location and the applicable laws of that location.

How many states have sales tax?

45 states (do not levy these taxes in the states Alaska, Oregon, Delaware, Montana and New Hampshire) and the District of Columbia impose general sales taxes that apply to the sale or lease of most goods and some services, and states also may levy selective sales taxes on the sale or lease of particular goods or services. States may grant local governments the authority to impose additional general or selective sales taxes.

How to get sales tax?

The first detail to know about sales taxes is that some states imposer the sale tax on the vendor, some to the buyer, and some states place sales taxes on both entities. It is important to know who pays the tax, as this affects whether you can claim the taxes as a refund or not.