Jackson County (NC) Sales Tax

  • Comments: Comments Off on Jackson County (NC) Sales Tax

Each business in North Carolina needs to collect sales taxes to then pay up to the Department of Revenue. The sales taxes are added to qualifying items and services sold. The sales tax rate is made up of the sum of the State sales tax, county sales tax, city sales tax, and in some cases, there are extra special district sales rates. The maximum sales tax applicable in Jackson County, North Carolina reaches 7.00%. The sales tax in North Carolina is 4.75%. Jackson County charges an extra 2.25% sales tax rate. Some cities charge up to an additional 0% on the sales tax rate, hence we get the maximal result of 7.00% sales tax rate.

Jackson County Sales Tax Calculator, North Carolina

-or- Specify Sales Tax Rate
-or- Specify ZIP Code

When you are selling or buying, you need to know the total sales tax applicable to your transaction. Since each city and district has its own applicable sales tax rate, it is easy to get lost. For this reason, we have created an online calculator that figures all of this out for you. All that you must do is input your zip code and the price of the transaction. The calculator will apply the sales tax rate of that zip code and will give you a result. This way you do not need to look around and search on multiple sites.

Tax Rates by City in Jackson County, North Carolina

In the USA, each district, each city has its own applicable sales tax rate. The total sales tax rates vary from a minimum of 7.00% to a maximum of 7.00%. To learn more about what is the general applicable sales tax rate for each city in North Carolina, see the table below. All you must do is to look for your designated city and read the applicable sales tax rate.

City Sales Tax Rate Zip-code Population


7.00% 28779 10102

Alternative sales tax rate for Jackson County.

County Max Combined Tax State Tax County Tax City Tax Special Tax
Mecklenburg County 7.25% 2.00% 0% 0.50%
Guilford County 6.75% 2.00% 0% 0%
Cumberland County 7.00% 2.25% 0% 0%
New Hanover County 7.00% 2.25% 0% 0%
Cabarrus County 7.00% 2.25% 0% 0%
Catawba County 7.00% 2.25% 0% 0%
Davidson County 7.00% 2.25% 0% 0%
Wayne County 6.75% 2.00% 0% 0%
Mcdowell County 6.75% 2.00% 0% 0%
Stanly County 7.00% 2.25% 0% 0%
Watauga County 6.75% 2.00% 0% 0%
Carteret County 7.00% 2.00% 0% 0%
Pender County 6.75% 2.00% 0% 0%
Yancey County 6.75% 2.00% 0% 0%
Dare County 6.75% 2.00% 0% 0%
Anson County 7.00% 2.25% 0% 0%
Hertford County 7.00% 2.25% 0% 0%
Washington County 6.75% 2.00% 0% 0%
Warren County 7.00% 2.25% 0% 0%
Polk County 6.75% 2.00% 0% 0%
Hyde County 6.75% 2.00% 0% 0%

Popular questions about sales tax in Jackson County

What state has the lowest sales tax?

Some areas have very small sales taxes. Starting, we have Alaska, which has a sales tax of 1.76%. We need to be mindful that products and services are very expensive in Alaska. Moving on with the list, we have Oregon, Delaware, Montana, and New Hampshire that have a 0% sales tax rate. If you need information regarding the ranking of states based on sales taxes, you can check this page.

How is an excise tax different from a sales tax?

There are some special goods and services that do not qualify for the sales tax rate but instead are charged another rate. The most common category of these items falls under the excise tax. This is a special tax rate that is charged to gas, fuel, tobacco, and other goods that are heavily regulated by the government. Some services qualify for excise tax, such as using the highway. Air travel is in this category too.

What does sales tax pay for?

Sales taxes are collected by the Department of Revenue. The taxes go to the General Fund, and it funds government expenses. Some parts of the sales tax fund state operations, such as K-12 education. The money can be used to fund other public services. The money collected from taxes is also used to pay the wages of jobs that are related to government agencies, such as police departments, libraries, museums, etc.

How many states have sales tax?

45 states (do not levy these taxes in the states Alaska, Oregon, Delaware, Montana and New Hampshire) and the District of Columbia impose general sales taxes that apply to the sale or lease of most goods and some services, and states also may levy selective sales taxes on the sale or lease of particular goods or services. States may grant local governments the authority to impose additional general or selective sales taxes.

Who pays sales tax?

The first detail to know about sales taxes is that some states imposer the sale tax on the vendor, some to the buyer, and some states place sales taxes on both entities. It is important to know who pays the tax, as this affects whether you can claim the taxes as a refund or not.