Clayton County (GA) Sales Tax

  • Comments: Comments Off on Clayton County (GA) Sales Tax

Each business in Georgia needs to collect sales taxes to then pay up to the Department of Revenue. The sales taxes are added to qualifying items and services sold. The sales tax rate is made up of the sum of the State sales tax, county sales tax, city sales tax, and in some cases, there are extra special district sales rates. The maximum sales tax applicable in Clayton County, Georgia reaches 8.00%. The sales tax in Georgia is 4.00%. Clayton County charges an extra 4.00% sales tax rate. Some cities charge up to an additional 0% on the sales tax rate, hence we get the maximal result of 8.00% sales tax rate.

Clayton County Sales Tax Calculator, Georgia

-or- Specify Sales Tax Rate
-or- Specify ZIP Code

When you are selling or buying, you need to know the total sales tax applicable to your transaction. Since each city and district has its own applicable sales tax rate, it is easy to get lost. For this reason, we have created an online calculator that figures all of this out for you. All that you must do is input your zip code and the price of the transaction. The calculator will apply the sales tax rate of that zip code and will give you a result. This way you do not need to look around and search on multiple sites.

Tax Rates by City in Clayton County, Georgia

In the USA, each district, each city has its own applicable sales tax rate. The total sales tax rates vary from a minimum of 8.00% to a maximum of 8.00%. To learn more about what is the general applicable sales tax rate for each city in Georgia, see the table below. All you must do is to look for your designated city and read the applicable sales tax rate.

City Sales Tax Rate Zip-code Population
Jonesboro 8.00% 30236, 30238 62699


8.00% 30274, 30296 46395

Forest Park

8.00% 30298 19723


8.00% 30273 12398

Alternative sales tax rate for Clayton County.

County Max Combined Tax State Tax County Tax City Tax Special Tax
Baldwin County 7.00% 3.00% 0% 0%
Tift County 8.00% 4.00% 0% 0%
Pickens County 7.00% 3.00% 0% 0%
Lumpkin County 8.00% 4.00% 0% 0%
Ben Hill County 8.00% 4.00% 0% 0%
Burke County 8.00% 2.00% 0% 1.00%
Chattooga County 7.00% 3.00% 0% 0%
Fannin County 7.00% 3.00% 0% 0%
Bacon County 8.00% 4.00% 0% 0%
Brooks County 8.00% 4.00% 0% 0%
Terrell County 8.00% 4.00% 0% 0%
Lincoln County 8.00% 3.00% 0% 1.00%
Turner County 8.00% 4.00% 0% 0%
Pike County 7.00% 3.00% 0% 0%
Lanier County 8.00% 4.00% 0% 0%
Meriwether County 8.00% 4.00% 0% 0%
Randolph County 8.00% 3.00% 0% 1.00%
Talbot County 8.00% 3.00% 0% 1.00%
Taliaferro County 8.00% 3.00% 0% 1.00%
Echols County 8.00% 4.00% 0% 0%

Popular questions about sales tax in Clayton County

How to calculate sales tax backwards from total?

Sometimes, people have a hard time figuring out the math behind sales taxes. This is especially true when people have the total transaction cost and the total sales tax. To figure out the sales tax percentage, we must do a bit of math, which is very simple and can be done via a phone calculator. Let’s assume that your total transaction with taxes is $106.25 and you know that the shelf price of the products purchased is $100.

The first thing that you do is subtract the cost of the goods from the total. In that case $106.25-$100=$6.25. Now you know that the sales taxes are $6.25. Then you divide the total sales tax by the shelf price of the cost of the goods bought, hence $100. So, ding the math, we have $6.25/$100 = 0.0625. We take the ratio number, and we multiply by 100%. Hence, we get : 0.00625*100%= 6.25%, which is the rate.

Which state has no sales tax?

Sales taxes are regulated by state and federal laws. Since states control the amount of sales tax that they charge locally, some others have decided to omit sales taxes at all to facilitate transactions. There are municipalities, or cities that can impose their taxes. As of right now, there are 5 states in the USA that do not charge a state sales tax. These states are Alaska, Montana, Oregon, Delaware, New Hampshire.

What state has the lowest sales tax?

Some areas have very small sales taxes. Starting, we have Alaska, which has a sales tax of 1.76%. We need to be mindful that products and services are very expensive in Alaska. Moving on with the list, we have Oregon, Delaware, Montana, and New Hampshire that have a 0% sales tax rate. If you need information regarding the ranking of states based on sales taxes, you can check this page.

How do you do sales tax?

You need to know all the applicable sales taxes that you should collect. You collect these taxes on each transaction. When it comes time to file your business quarterly returns, you declare your sales taxes collected and you pay them to the Department OF Revenue. You pay these taxes on January 15, April 15, July 15, and October 15. The type of sales taxes collected, and the rate depends on the business incorporation location and the applicable laws of that location.

How many states have sales tax?

45 states (do not levy these taxes in the states Alaska, Oregon, Delaware, Montana and New Hampshire) and the District of Columbia impose general sales taxes that apply to the sale or lease of most goods and some services, and states also may levy selective sales taxes on the sale or lease of particular goods or services. States may grant local governments the authority to impose additional general or selective sales taxes.