Hall County (NE) Sales Tax

  • Comments: Comments Off on Hall County (NE) Sales Tax

Each business in Nebraska needs to collect sales taxes to then pay up to the Department of Revenue. The sales taxes are added to qualifying items and services sold. The sales tax rate is made up of the sum of the State sales tax, county sales tax, city sales tax, and in some cases, there are extra special district sales rates. The maximum sales tax applicable in Hall County, Nebraska reaches 7.50%. The sales tax in Nebraska is 5.50%. Hall County charges an extra 0% sales tax rate. Some cities charge up to an additional 2% on the sales tax rate, hence we get the maximal result of 7.50% sales tax rate.

Hall County Sales Tax Calculator, Nebraska

-or- Specify Sales Tax Rate
-or- Specify ZIP Code

When you are selling or buying, you need to know the total sales tax applicable to your transaction. Since each city and district has its own applicable sales tax rate, it is easy to get lost. For this reason, we have created an online calculator that figures all of this out for you. All that you must do is input your zip code and the price of the transaction. The calculator will apply the sales tax rate of that zip code and will give you a result. This way you do not need to look around and search on multiple sites.

Tax Rates by City in Hall County, Nebraska

In the USA, each district, each city has its own applicable sales tax rate. The total sales tax rates vary from a minimum of 5.50% to a maximum of 7.50%. To learn more about what is the general applicable sales tax rate for each city in Nebraska, see the table below. All you must do is to look for your designated city and read the applicable sales tax rate.

City Sales Tax Rate Zip-code Population

Grand Island

7.50% 68801, 68802, 68803 41913

Alternative sales tax rate for Hall County.

County Max Combined Tax State Tax County Tax City Tax Special Tax
Adams County 7.00% 0% 1.50% 0%
Dakota County 6.00% 0.50% 0% 0%
Gage County 8.00% 0.50% 2.00% 0%
Washington County 7.00% 0% 1.50% 0%
Otoe County 7.50% 0% 2.00% 0%
Keith County 7.00% 0% 1.50% 0%
Cuming County 7.50% 0% 2.00% 0%
Richardson County 7.00% 0% 1.50% 0%
Pierce County 7.00% 0% 1.50% 0%
Valley County 7.50% 0% 2.00% 0%
Johnson County 7.00% 0% 1.50% 0%
Morrill County 5.50% 0% 0% 0%
Garfield County 5.50% 0% 0% 0%
Dixon County 7.00% 0% 1.50% 0%
Gosper County 5.50% 0% 0% 0%
Polk County 7.00% 0% 1.50% 0%
Sherman County 7.50% 0% 2.00% 0%
Webster County 7.00% 0% 1.50% 0%
Hayes County 5.50% 0% 0% 0%
Sioux County 5.50% 0% 0% 0%
Grant County 5.50% 0% 0% 0%

Popular questions about sales tax in Hall County

What is state sales tax?

The sales tax is paid by the consumer to the business. The business then collects the sales taxes and pays them out to the Department Of Revenue. Sales taxes are paid on qualifying goods, otherwise known as taxable goods. Sales taxes also apply to taxable services. Not every product or service sold qualifies for sales taxes. Some are sales tax exempt.

On the category of sales exempt, there are various items and services. These depend on the type of business that is selling them and depends on the state. Various states have different rules when it comes to sales exempt items and services. Sales tax exempt are also businesses that are qualified as non-profit.

To get more information on sales taxes, you can check this link. You will get info about what should a business do to collect taxes, about the applicable laws that determine how a business pays sales taxes and how to determine the appropriate sales tax for a newly established business. It is imperative to know that the tax rate that a business charge depends on its nexus, otherwise known as a place of incorporation.

Which state has the lowest sales tax?

Some areas have very small sales taxes. Starting, we have Alaska, which has a sales tax of 1.76%. We need to be mindful that products and services are very expensive in Alaska. Moving on with the list, we have Oregon, Delaware, Montana, and New Hampshire that have a 0% sales tax rate. If you need information regarding the ranking of states based on sales taxes, you can check this page.

Where does sales tax go?

Sales taxes are collected by the Department of Revenue. The taxes go to the General Fund, and it funds government expenses. Some parts of the sales tax fund state operations, such as K-12 education. The money can be used to fund other public services. The money collected from taxes is also used to pay the wages of jobs that are related to government agencies, such as police departments, libraries, museums, etc.

How to pay sales tax online?

You need to know all the applicable sales taxes that you should collect. You collect these taxes on each transaction. When it comes time to file your business quarterly returns, you declare your sales taxes collected and you pay them to the Department OF Revenue. You pay these taxes on January 15, April 15, July 15, and October 15. The type of sales taxes collected, and the rate depends on the business incorporation location and the applicable laws of that location.

What states have sales tax?

45 states (do not levy these taxes in the states Alaska, Oregon, Delaware, Montana and New Hampshire) and the District of Columbia impose general sales taxes that apply to the sale or lease of most goods and some services, and states also may levy selective sales taxes on the sale or lease of particular goods or services. States may grant local governments the authority to impose additional general or selective sales taxes.