Duplin County (NC) Sales Tax

  • Comments: Comments Off on Duplin County (NC) Sales Tax

Each business in North Carolina needs to collect sales taxes to then pay up to the Department of Revenue. The sales taxes are added to qualifying items and services sold. The sales tax rate is made up of the sum of the State sales tax, county sales tax, city sales tax, and in some cases, there are extra special district sales rates. The maximum sales tax applicable in Duplin County, North Carolina reaches 7.00%. The sales tax in North Carolina is 4.75%. Duplin County charges an extra 2.00% sales tax rate. Some cities charge up to an additional 0% on the sales tax rate, hence we get the maximal result of 7.00% sales tax rate.

Duplin County Sales Tax Calculator, North Carolina

-or- Specify Sales Tax Rate
-or- Specify ZIP Code

When you are selling or buying, you need to know the total sales tax applicable to your transaction. Since each city and district has its own applicable sales tax rate, it is easy to get lost. For this reason, we have created an online calculator that figures all of this out for you. All that you must do is input your zip code and the price of the transaction. The calculator will apply the sales tax rate of that zip code and will give you a result. This way you do not need to look around and search on multiple sites.

Tax Rates by City in Duplin County, North Carolina

In the USA, each district, each city has its own applicable sales tax rate. The total sales tax rates vary from a minimum of 6.75% to a maximum of 7.00%. To learn more about what is the general applicable sales tax rate for each city in North Carolina, see the table below. All you must do is to look for your designated city and read the applicable sales tax rate.

City Sales Tax Rate Zip-code Population

Mount Olive

6.75% 28365 10931

Alternative sales tax rate for Duplin County.

County Max Combined Tax State Tax County Tax City Tax Special Tax
Guilford County 6.75% 2.00% 0% 0%
Durham County 7.50% 2.25% 0% 0.50%
Buncombe County 7.00% 2.25% 0% 0%
Wilson County 7.00% 2.00% 0% 0%
Rowan County 7.00% 2.25% 0% 0%
Burke County 6.75% 2.00% 0% 0%
Robeson County 7.00% 2.25% 0% 0%
Orange County 7.50% 2.25% 0% 0.50%
Randolph County 7.00% 2.25% 0% 0%
Beaufort County 6.75% 2.00% 0% 0%
Brunswick County 6.75% 2.00% 0% 0%
Scotland County 6.75% 2.00% 0% 0%
Watauga County 6.75% 2.00% 0% 0%
Columbus County 6.75% 2.00% 0% 0%
Martin County 7.00% 2.25% 0% 0%
Jackson County 7.00% 2.25% 0% 0%
Anson County 7.00% 2.25% 0% 0%
Currituck County 6.75% 2.00% 0% 0%
Swain County 7.00% 2.25% 0% 0%
Washington County 6.75% 2.00% 0% 0%

Popular questions about sales tax in Duplin County

How is an excise tax different from a sales tax?

There are some special goods and services that do not qualify for the sales tax rate but instead are charged another rate. The most common category of these items falls under the excise tax. This is a special tax rate that is charged to gas, fuel, tobacco, and other goods that are heavily regulated by the government. Some services qualify for excise tax, such as using the highway. Air travel is in this category too.

When is sales tax due?

You need to know all the applicable sales taxes that you should collect. You collect these taxes on each transaction. When it comes time to file your business quarterly returns, you declare your sales taxes collected and you pay them to the Department OF Revenue. You pay these taxes on January 15, April 15, July 15, and October 15. The type of sales taxes collected, and the rate depends on the business incorporation location and the applicable laws of that location.

What is a sales tax id number?

To collect taxes as a business you need a tax id number. You can get thus form the IRS . You get a sales tax id by using the information from the tax id number. A sales certificate is proof that you are buying something for business use and that you intend to resell the thing that you bought. The sales certificate allows a business to buy goods and services without a sales tax.

What states have sales tax?

45 states (do not levy these taxes in the states Alaska, Oregon, Delaware, Montana and New Hampshire) and the District of Columbia impose general sales taxes that apply to the sale or lease of most goods and some services, and states also may levy selective sales taxes on the sale or lease of particular goods or services. States may grant local governments the authority to impose additional general or selective sales taxes.

How to get sales tax?

The first detail to know about sales taxes is that some states imposer the sale tax on the vendor, some to the buyer, and some states place sales taxes on both entities. It is important to know who pays the tax, as this affects whether you can claim the taxes as a refund or not.